Andrew Eynon’s Library Blog

A blog about librarianship in Further Education

Mobile social networking apps on the ipod Touch

Posted by andrewey on June 13, 2009

Following on from my last post, I’m continuing with the theme of mobile Web 2.0 apps on the iPhone & iPod Touch with a look at some social networking apps.

Firstly there is the free Facebook app which gives you access to confirming friend notifications, viewing your wall and updates from friends. There is no access to groups unfortunately or other Facebook apps but I’ve found it useful for updating my account particularly as I’m not a heavy Facebook user.

Interestingly this is one of the few apps which requires you to login each time you open it. I still think the extra effort of logging in outweighs the security issue with other apps where you are automatically logged in – if you were to lose or misplace your iPod.

The sheer number of Twitter apps for the iPhone shows not just the popularity of Twitter but also the suitability and convenience of tweeting on a mobile device.

Okay Twitter is microblogging rather than technically a social networking site but I presume many users see it as a social networking tool.

I’ve tried two free Twitter apps. TwitterFon is a simple but effective Twitter app – it allows you to view updates from friends, search for tags and free text and you can view other Twitter profiles and who Twitter(er)s are following and who their followers are.

Twitterrific is another free Twitter app. It has a much more professional feel, in terms of the quality of appearance of the screens but I find it not so intuitive – I have thus far not been able to see other Twitters’ followers and followings for example. However the search facility is more impressive and you can setup access to multiple Twitter accounts.

I suspect the higher graphics quality over TwitterFon means it uses up battery power quicker but it is the simplicity of the latter which I prefer.

There is a very interesting looking ‘3D’ Twitter app you can buy but I’ve not had a play with that yet.

Follow my Twitter feed here

2 Responses to “Mobile social networking apps on the ipod Touch”

  1. Robert Woodside said

    Also check out Centrl, pretty cool lbsn,… – http://centrl.com

  2. Tom Roper said

    And if you can bear the sickening name, Tweetie, in my opinion, is better than Twitterific

Leave a Reply

 
